Membership of the SASMT is divided into centres.
There are two types of centres: Ordinary centres and Institutional centres.

Ordinary or Regional Centres
These centres mostly correspond to geographical areas, mainly cities. For a list of current ordinary centres click here. New centres can be created at any time if the requirements for them are met. Members of a regional centre are individually responsible for their membership fees. See the requirements below for starting a new centre.

Institutional centres
These centres are Music centres, schools with music departments, colleges, universities etc. For a list of current institutional centres with their representatives click here. The institution is responsible for the membership fees of its members. The membership fee per individual is less than that for ordinary or regional centres. Music teaching staff appointed at such an institution may choose to become members of the SASMT automatically.